31st Indie Spirit Award Winners


Yesterday’s  Indie Spirit Award Winners were absolutely amazing! 5 wins for Spotlight, including Best Feature and  Best Director for Tom McCarthy, 2 wins for the fantastic Beasts of No Nation — Best Actor, Abraham Attah, and Best Supporting Actor, Idris Elba — and Best Supporting Actress went to Mya Taylor for Tangerine!!! Taylor became the first transgendered actor to win an award, ever!! This is amazing and this awards show should show Hollywood what respecting and awarding real, important films is all about. Inclusion and acceptance. Get with Hollywood. On a side note, I really wish Todd Haynes would have won Best Director. I still cannot believe the best film of 2015 is not picking up win after win.

Best Feature

Best Director
Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best Female Lead
Brie Larson, Room

Best Male Lead
Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation

Best Supporting Female
Mya Taylor, Tangerine

Best Supporting Male
Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation

Best Cinematography
Ed Lachman, Carol

Best Screenplay
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, Spotlight

Best Editing
Tom McArdle, Spotlight

Best International Film
Son of Saul

Best Documentary
The Look of Silence

Best First Screenplay
Emma Donoghue, Room

Best First Feature
The Diary of a Teenage Girl

Robert Altman Award

John Cassavettes Award

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s